A Word From a Teenager

The post below is from a dear friend of mine in the youth group. The subject is, “What I wish my parents would understand about me.” Enjoy.

I wish my parents would understand what is important to me, and how important it is.  Will it matter in 5 years? Probably not, but it does to me now. No matter what it is, it’s something that I love doing and have a passion for. Its also a way that I hang out with my friends, which is vital for a teenagers sanity in my opinion. I also wish my parents would take more time to listen to me or ask me for my input on the situation. When decisions are made about me without even hearing what I have to say it makes me feel that it doesn’t matter how I feel or what my opinion is and they’re the only ones who can contribute anything. Do they have to listen to me? No, but the fact that you took time to listen to what I have to say means alot, and I probably won’t be as upset about the decision if it doesn’t go my way. Another thing I wish my parents would understand is how hard I work to make them proud. I don’t think mine do or I feel that it is often overlooked. Does it always have be all about me? No, but when I work really hard to achieve something, there is usually some drive inside me that comes from wanting you to tell me “good job”. The last thing I want my parents to understand is that I am thankful for EVERYTHING they have given to  me, or done for me, or whatever the case maybe. Do I always show it or say thank you? No, but i am always grateful for it.

This post is helpful to me because it shows the necessity for teenagers to be loved and appreciated. That is why I do what I do.

2 thoughts on “A Word From a Teenager

  1. This is very powerful. Thank you, Robbie and Teenager, for sharing this. Your words can help a lot of people. I’m listening to you as I look foward into the future to see where my family will be in a few years!

    1. Your welcome Jill. This was an excellent post and the person who posted couldn’t be more of a genuine person. We have an awesome youth group.

Leave a comment